A Glimpse of ASEAN


ASEAN as international organization for Southeast Asian country has been an important part for Southeast Asian countries to develop. There are many values in this organization. Taking back to the history when it was established in 1967 .  ASEAN established based on Bangkok Declaration 8 August 1967 which has purpose to accelerate the economic growth, social progress and cultural development, to promote regional peace and stability, to promote active collaboration and mutual assistance, to promote Southeast Asian studies and enhance cooperation among the members.

In economic sector ASEAN has shown outstanding achievements. ASEAN has 227 companies that have revenue more than 1 Billion Dollar. ASEAN also the fourth largest exporting region in the world after EU, USA and China. ASEAN also become the world’s fish net. The data from ASEAN website, in 2010 Indonesia produce 10.83 million tones of fish and fisheries, Vietnam and The Phillippines produced 5.2 million tonnes and Myanmar 850,959 tonnes.

ASEAN act as an association that uniting all member states by many ways. One of the way is by establishing ASEAN Community. ASEAN Community has 3 important Pillars, first, ASEAN Political-Security Community. This pillar is focused on cooperation to counter any transnational crime such as trafficking as well as prioritize diplomatic and dialogue to solve the conflict among the members.  Second, ASEAN Economic Community. This pillar is focused on the economic cooperation and economic growth goods and services. This pillar also allow skillful people can work abroad in other ASEAN countries, which mean, there will be more competitive workforce and more opportunities. The third pillar is ASEAN Socio-Cultural Community. This pillar is a unique pillar since the culture is being important part to enhance diversity among the member states by conducting exchange culture events and studies.

Image result for asean community

Even though ASEAN is regional organization that consists of 10 country members, ASEAN has respect to the member state by not interfering any conflict dispute within the country. It is written in ASEAN Charter in Article 2 (Principles) number 2 point (a) and (e) saying :

Point (a) : “Respect for independence, sovereignty, equality, territorial integrity and national identity of all ASEAN member states”

Point (e) : “non-interference in internal affairs of ASEAN Member States”

These points showing that ASEAN has respect towards each country’s independence and sovereignty. The ties of each member is based on the mutual respect and mutual understanding.


ASEAN had signed a cooperation with other countries in ASEAN Dialogue Coordinatorship. It began in July 2015 till July 2024. This cooperation is divided by 3 categories, they are Dialogue Partners which has 10 countries and organization as the partners namely Australia, Canada, China, European Union, India, Japan, Republic of Korea, New Zealand, Russia and United States. Sectoral Dialogue Partners has 4 countries; Pakistan, Norway, Switzerland and Turkey. While Development Partner categories only has Germany as the cooperated country.




Picture source :

asean.org | Mckinsey & Co